“我正在盡力而為,但人們可能會很粗魯——大喊大叫並製造一些我無法控制的事情的場面! 這幾天好多”

從人員配備到庫存,這些天有很多短缺,而且隨著假期的臨近,這種短缺可能尤其嚴重。 如今,大多數在酒店、雜貨店、餐館、購物中心和其他擁有大量公共界面的職位工作的人都感到壓力和焦慮。

客戶服務人員日復一日地與陌生人互動。 提高客戶的敵意可能會使服務人員筋疲力盡——繼續短缺的循環。 他們在前線,所以當公眾恐慌時,他們是第一個處理的。 他們在努力保持安全並完成工作的同時,正在努力控制潛在的恐懼。

如果您是一名客戶服務人員,並且發現自己在工作中面臨壓力和焦慮,這可能會對您的自我價值產生負面影響,並導致您懷疑自己。 如果您在緊張的一天之後發現自己質疑自己的價值,請嘗試以下快速活動:

拿一張美元鈔票,比如 10 美元,問問自己它值多少錢?

當然,這是值得的。 現在粉碎它,踩它,折疊它並展開它。 現在把它弄直。 現在值多少錢? 當然,價值是一樣的。 這象徵著無論我們感到多麼壓抑或踩踏,我們仍然值得。 我們的自我價值永遠不會改變。

壓力環境和情況不應該決定一個人的自我價值,但事實是有時我們可以內化我們的負面經歷。 重要的是要記住,他人對待我們的方式並不是我們的反映——他們的行為代表了他們。 所以……在這些時候禮貌和禮貌大有幫助! 對自己和他人保持耐心、友善和同情心可以幫助管理其中的一些壓力源。

這裡有幾件事你也可以嘗試提升一些壓力......

休息一下…

出去幾分鐘或去洗手間休息一下。 留出一些時間讓您離開環境,喝點水或呼吸一下空氣。

深呼吸…

每當你開始感到不知所措時,深吸一口氣,屏住四秒鐘,然後呼氣。 嘗試每天重複此練習 2-3 次。 這種技術簡單而強大。 當您吸氣和呼氣時,它有助於舒緩神經並減輕壓力。

想想你最喜歡的地方...

想像一下,在那一刻在那裡會是什麼感覺。 我們的想像力非常強大。 調整你的五種感官,想像它聞起來像什麼,你會看到什麼,以及你在那裡會有什麼感覺。

與您的同事交談……

有這種感覺的人可能不止你一個。 這使您可以通過相似的經歷建立聯繫並促進關係。

聽音樂…

音樂有助於降低血糖、降低心率和減少焦慮。 在午休時間放上您最喜歡的播放列表,讓您頭腦清醒! 讓自己為換班做好心理準備。 注意你聽的音樂類型,盡量保持舒緩或樂觀。

紐約希望工程

在線健康小組

加入健康小組

機密•匿名•免費

6組可供選擇

情緒支持熱線

與危機顧問聯繫:

致電:1-844-863-9314

機密•匿名•免費

8 am-10pm / 7天

“I’m trying my best, but people can be rude – yelling and causing scenes about things that I don’t have control over! It’s a lot some days”

From staffing to inventory, there are a lot of shortages these days and it can be particularly overwhelming as we get closer to the holidays. Most people working in hospitality, grocery stores, restaurants, shopping centers, and other positions with a lot of public interfaces have felt stress and anxiety these days.

Customer service workers are interacting day in and out with strangers. Raising hostility from the customers can burn out service workers – continuing the cycle of shortages. They are on the frontlines, so when the public panics, they are the first to deal with it. They are struggling to manage their underlying fear while trying to stay safe and get their jobs done.

If you are a customer service worker and find yourself struggling with stress and anxiety at work, it may negatively impact your self-worth and cause you to doubt yourself. If you ever find yourself questioning your worth after a stressful day, try this quick activity:

Take a dollar bill such as $10 and ask yourself how much is it worth?

Of course, it is worth face value. Now crumble it, step on it, fold it and unfold it. Now straighten it out. How much is it worth now? Of course, the worth is the same. This symbolizes that no matter how much we feel crushed or stepped on, we are still worth the same. Our self-worth never changes.

Stressful environments and situations shouldn’t dictate one’s self-worth but the truth is sometimes we can internalize our negative experiences. It’s important to remember that how others treat us is not a reflection of us – their actions represent them. So…being polite and courteous during these times goes a long way! Practicing patience, kindness, and compassion toward ourselves and others can help manage some of these stressors.

Here are a couple of things you can also try to elevate some of the pressure…

Take a break…

Go outside for a couple of minutes or take a bathroom break. Allow some time for you to get out of the environment and take a drink of water or get some air.

Deep breathing…

Whenever you start to feel overwhelmed, take a long deep breath, hold it for four seconds – and then exhale. Try to repeat this exercise 2-3 times daily. This technique is simple yet powerful. When you inhale and exhale, it helps soothe your nerves and reduce stress.

Think of your favorite place

Imagine what it would be like to be there at that moment. Our imagination is very powerful. Tune into your five senses and imagine what it would smell like, what you would see, and how you would be feeling there.

Talk to your colleagues…

Chances are you are not the only one feeling this way. This allows you to connect and foster relationships by bonding over similar experiences.

Listen to music…

Music helps lower blood sugar, reduce heart rate, and decrease anxiety. Put on your favorite playlist during your lunch break and clear your mind! Get yourself mentally ready for your shift. Be mindful of the type of music you listen to and try to keep it soothing or upbeat.

You might also like…

New York Project Hope

Online Wellness Group

Join a wellness group

Confidential • Anonymous • Free

7 groups to choose from

Emotional Support Helpline

Talk to a crisis counselor:

Call: 1-844-863-9314

Confidential • Anonymous • Free

8am-10pm / 7 days