幫助您應對長長的 COVID 檢測線的建議

隨著本賽季新病例的增加,各地檢測中心的隊伍越來越長。 這可能是一種令人沮喪的經歷,甚至令人害怕去想它。 老實說,排隊等候接受 COVID-19 檢測並不是任何人所期待的。

您可能出於多種原因感到焦慮,包括不得不站在那裡想知道您或您周圍的人是否生病了。 除了漫長的等待之外,您的環境可能不是最舒適的,無論是在擁擠的室內空間內還是在寒冷的室外。 因此,這再次提醒您,您並不孤單,我們在一起! 接受測試對於確保我們自己和他人的安全很重要。 為了幫助您輕鬆、安心地排長隊,我們收集了一份清單,您可以採取這些措施來獲得更順暢的體驗。

提前打電話…

在前往測試中心之前,提前打電話了解該站點是否仍在提供測試並確保他們沒有滿負荷可能會有所幫助。 這可以節省您的時間,並允許您檢查您周圍的不同測試站點。 需要在您附近尋找檢測點嗎? 查看 https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/find-test-site-near-you

多穿幾層……

分層可能會有所幫助。 根據您是在外面等待還是在裡面等待,您可以根據自己的感受選擇多穿或脫下衣服。 這包括帶上圍巾、手套和背包,以便能夠放入您的東西。

做一個待辦事項清單…

在出發之前,創建一個你一直推遲的事情清單,你可以在排隊等候時做這些事情。 一些例子包括預約醫生、清理收件箱、製作購物清單、打電話等。這可以讓您更好地利用您的時間,也可以讓等待時間過得更快!

找出您預計的等待時間……

為了更清楚並消除您可能感到的一些不確定性,請嘗試找出您的預計等待時間。 你可以問工作人員得到一個想法。 這可以幫助您相應地計劃您的一天。

帶一本書…

用一本好書佔用您的時間,您可以在等待時沉浸其中! 當現實讓人感到筋疲力盡或沉重時,書籍可能是一種很好的逃避方式。

創建播放列表…

在離開家之前,創建一個播放列表,其中包含您想在等待時收聽或觀看的音樂或視頻。 包括任何有助於緩解 COVID-19 焦慮的舒緩聲音或視頻。 這也可以讓您在排隊時有所期待。

嘗試引導意象冥想……

如果您在等待時感到焦慮,請嘗試引導式意象冥想。 您可以在 Youtube.com 上找到很多內容,或者您​​可以輕鬆地想到您最喜歡的地方並使用您的五種感官來想像自己在那裡。 當你想像自己在你最喜歡的地方時,想想那裡的味道、你的感覺、你在你面前看到的東西,以及你可能聽到或嚐到的東西!

打電話給朋友/家人…

與朋友簽到並在等待時交談。 這可能是趕上的好時機,也可以分散注意力!

聽播客…

有很多播客可供選擇! 想想你想了解更多或你的興趣的一些事情,然後找到一個關於它的播客! 如果您對 COVID-19 感到焦慮,那麼有許多播客也以如何應對這些感覺為中心。

銘記:

正念可以幫助緩解焦慮和壓力,而這些焦慮和壓力會在等待時變得超速。 這可以包括專注於你的呼吸和當下——試圖放下任何突然出現在你腦海中的想法。 你可以試著把你的想法想像成烏雲飄散。

關於測試的問題?

撥打紐約州 COVID-19 熱線 1-888-364-3065 或訪問 紐約州衛生部網站.

紐約希望工程

在線健康小組

加入健康小組

機密•匿名•免費

6組可供選擇

情緒支持熱線

與危機顧問聯繫:

致電:1-844-863-9314

機密•匿名•免費

8 am-10pm / 7天

Suggestions to help you cope with long COVID testing lines

With new cases rising this season, lines are getting longer at testing centers everywhere. This can be a frustrating experience, and even a dread to think about it. Let’s be honest, waiting in line to get tested for COVID-19 is not something anyone looks forward to.

You may be feeling anxious for plenty of reasons including just having to stand there wondering if you or the people around you are sick. On top of the long wait, the setting you may not be the most comfortable, whether that’s within a crowded indoor space or outside in the cold. Thus, this is yet another reminder that you are not alone, and we are in this together! Getting tested is important to keep ourselves and others safe. To help you get through the long lines with a little ease and peace of mind, we’ve gathered a list of things that you can do to have a smoother experience.

Call ahead…

Before leaving for a testing center, it may be beneficial to call ahead and find out if the site is still offering testing and to make sure they are not at capacity. This can save you time and allows you to check in with different testing sites around you. Need to find a testing site near you? Check out https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/find-test-site-near-you

Dress in layers…

Having layers on can be helpful. Depending on whether you’re waiting outside or inside, layers allow you the option of putting on more or taking off based on how you are feeling. This includes bringing a scarf, gloves, and a backpack to be able to put your things in.

Make a to-do list…

Before heading out, create a list of things that you have been putting off that you can do while you’re waiting in line. Some examples include making doctor’s appointments, cleaning out your inbox, making a grocery list, making phone calls etc. This allows you to make greater use of your time and it can make the waiting time go by faster!

Find out your estimated wait time…

To have more clarity and to take away some of the uncertainty you may be feeling, try to find out your estimated wait time. You can ask the staff to get an idea. This can help you plan your day accordingly.

Bring a book…

Occupy your time with a good book that you can immerse yourself in while you wait! Books can be a great escape when reality can feel draining or heavy.

Create a playlist…

Prior to leaving your home, create a playlist of either music or videos you’d like to listen to or watch while you’re waiting. Include any soothing sounds or videos that can help with COVID-19 anxiety. This can also give you something to look forward to while you’re in line.

Try a guided imagery meditation…

If you are feeling anxious while waiting, try a guided imagery meditation. You can find plenty on Youtube.com or you can easily think of your favorite place and use your five senses to imagine yourself there. As you envision yourself at your favorite place, think about what it smells like there, what you feel like, what you are seeing in front of you, and what you may be hearing or tasting!

Call a friend/family member…

Check-in with a friend and talk away as you wait. It can be a good time to catch up and can serve as a good distraction!

Listen to podcasts…

There are plenty of podcasts to choose from! Think of some things you wanted to learn more about or your interests and find a podcast around that! If you’re feeling COVID-19 anxiety, there are many podcasts centered on how to cope with these feelings as well.

Be Mindful:

Mindfulness can help ease anxiety and stress that can kick into overdrive while waiting. This can include focusing on your breathing and the present moment – trying to let go of any thoughts that pop into your head. You can try imagining your thoughts as clouds drifting away.

Questions about testing?

Call the New York State COVID-19 Hotline at 1-888-364-3065 or visit the NYS Department of Health website.

New York Project Hope

Online Wellness Group

Join a wellness group

Confidential • Anonymous • Free

6 groups to choose from

Emotional Support Helpline

Talk to a crisis counselor:

Call: 1-844-863-9314

Confidential • Anonymous • Free

8am-10pm / 7 days