如果您对金钱的担忧感到不知所措,那么您并不孤单。

COVID 可能挑战了您的财务状况并加剧了您的压力源。 随着增强的联邦失业救济金于 6 月 XNUMX 日结束,一些人感到了负担。 我们与财务的情感联系可以增强或削弱我们在日常生活中的舒适度。 因此,讨论金钱焦虑对我们整体幸福感的影响非常重要。

尽管我们可能想避免谈论金钱,但这样做可能很困难,因为它是一种生存手段。 与其避免它,不如尝试一下这种不适感来探索如何进行更多控制,这会有所帮助。 要问自己的一个问题是,“钱对我来说意味着什么?”如果你对金钱有任何负面含义,你可能想探索一下你可能从哪里收集到这些信息。 将金钱重新定义为工具或资源有助于消除这些含义可能带来的一些情绪压力。

安排一些时间来检查您的财务状况可能会令人伤脑筋,但也可以通过为您提供一个方向图来帮助您。 意识到您的财务困难,但不要经常检查并希望数字会发生变化,这有助于制定策略。 首先写下您和您的家人可以减少开支或更有效地管理资金的方法。 然后制定计划并定期审查。

如果您正在为金钱焦虑而苦苦挣扎,以下是专业人士提供的一些提示,可帮助您在制定财务计划时应对这些问题:

1. 每次你知道你会花时间检查你的财务……

之后立即计划您喜欢做的事情以提升您的情绪。

2. 在您处理财务或打开邮件/电子邮件时,请某人与您坐在一起……

这可以是您可以从中获得洞察力的教练或导师,甚至可以是支持您的朋友或家人。 请记住,我们在邮件中收到的一些电子邮件或信件甚至不包含相关信息,它们只是直接邮件营销和您可以扔掉的东西。

家庭夫妇存钱。

3. 如果您需要联系呼叫中心,但又害怕……

看看是否有在线聊天或其他选项。

4. 如果您要拨打困难电话,请提醒自己您正在与之通话的人正在做 他们的工作…

尝试与他们进行友好的交谈,询问他们过得怎么样或他们在世界上的哪个地方。 这填补了尴尬的沉默,使通话更加愉快和自然。

5. 在困难的通话中做笔记……

让您的手不再坐立不安,并帮助您记住细节并保持专注。

6. 确定你如何处理与金钱有关的压力……

通过改掉不健康的习惯,如吸烟、饮酒、赌博或情绪化饮食来缓解压力是很常见的。 这种压力还会导致合作伙伴之间出现更多的冲突和争论。 如果您发现这种情况发生,请务必寻求帮助!

查看我们在这些充满挑战的时期应对压力和焦虑的其他技巧。

你可能还喜欢…

纽约希望工程

在线健康小组

加入健康小组

机密•匿名•免费

7组可供选择

情绪支持热线

与危机顾问联系:

致电:1-844-863-9314

机密•匿名•免费

8 am-10pm / 7天

If you are feeling overwhelmed by money worries, you’re not alone.

COVID may have challenged your finances and intensified your stressors. As enhanced federal unemployment benefits ended on Sept.6, some people felt the burden. The emotional connection we have with our finances can either strengthen or weaken our comfort in our daily lives. So it’s important to discuss the impacts money anxiety can have on our general well-being.

As much as we may want to avoid talking about money, it can be difficult to do so as it is a means for survival. Instead of avoiding it, what can be helpful is leaning into the discomfort to explore how to take more control. A question to ask yourself is, “What does money mean to me?” If you have any negative connotations to money, you may want to explore where you might have gathered these messages from. Reframing money as a tool or a resource can be helpful to take away some of the emotional stress that these connotations can come with.

Setting up some time to go over your finances can be nerve racking, but can also be helpful by giving you a map of which direction to go. Being aware of your financial difficulties, but not constantly checking and hoping the numbers will change, is helpful to create a strategy. Start off with writing down ways you and your family can reduce expenses or manage your money more efficiently. Then commit to a plan and review it regularly.

If you’re struggling with money anxiety, below are some tips from professionals with ways to help you cope when developing a financial plan for yourself:

1. Every time you know you’ll be spending time going over your finances…

Plan something that you love to do immediately after to lift your mood.

2. Ask someone to sit with you while you’re working on your finances or opening mail/emails…

This can be a coach or a mentor that you can gain insight from, or even a friend or family member to support you. Remember some emails or letters we receive in the mail don’t even contain relevant information, they’re simply direct mail marketing and things you can just throw away.

Family couple saving money.

3. If you need to contact a call center but you are dreading it…

Look to see if there’s an online chat or other option instead.

4. If you’re making a difficult call, remind yourself that the person you’re speaking to is someone who is doing their job…

Try to have a friendly conversation with them, ask how they’re doing or where they are in the world. This fills the awkward silences and makes the call more pleasant and natural.

5. Take notes during difficult calls…

To stop your hands from fidgeting and to help you remember details and stay focused.

6. Identify how you deal with stress related to money…

It’s common to try to relieve stress by turning to unhealthy habits such as smoking, drinking, gambling or emotional eating. The strain can also lead to more conflict and arguments between partners. If you find this happening be sure to reach out for help!

Check out our other tips for coping with stress and anxiety during these challenging times.

You might also like…

New York Project Hope

Online Wellness Group

Join a wellness group

Confidential • Anonymous • Free

7 groups to choose from

Emotional Support Helpline

Talk to a crisis counselor:

Call: 1-844-863-9314

Confidential • Anonymous • Free

8am-10pm / 7 days