压力源

家庭散步,戴着口罩

小孩子

  • 家庭紧张
  • 家里的变化
  • 学校
  • 朋友介绍
青少年组戴防护口罩

青春期

  • 媒体中的外部事件或情况
  • 学者
  • 朋友/同伴
  • 浪漫关系
  • 物质使用和酒精的压力
  • 烦躁和愤怒: 孩子们经常通过行为来表达自己的感受。 压力大的孩子和青少年可能脾气暴躁或对抗。
  • 行为变化: 一个通常具有镇定性的幼儿突然表现出来。 一个非常活跃的少年突然在他的卧室里孤立起来。 这些都是突然的变化,可能表明压力水平很高。
  • 睡眠困难: 儿童或青少年可能会抱怨精疲力尽或睡眠不足。 这些迹象表明,儿童或青少年正在经历睡眠中断,或者仅仅是睡眠不足。
  • 忽略责任: 如果青少年突然承担起诸如家庭作业,琐事之类的责任,或者承担诸如活动和郊游之类的更愉快的活动,压力可能是一个因素。
  • 饮食变化: 饮食过多或过少都会对压力产生反应。
  • 经常生病: 压力可以表现为身体症状。 感到压力增加的孩子经常会头痛或胃痛,并可能经常去学校护士的办公室或儿科医生。
  • 睡得好。 睡眠对于身心健康至关重要。 专家建议9到12岁的孩子每晚睡6到12个小时。 青少年每晚需要8到10个小时。 睡眠是当务之急。 限制晚上使用屏幕,避免将手机,平板电脑和笔记本电脑等设备放在卧室。
  • 体育锻炼对于各个年龄段的人来说都是必不可少的压力克星! 美国卫生与公共服务部建议60至6岁的儿童每天至少活动17分钟。
  • 说出来 与受信任的成年人(如父母,老师,教练或治疗师)谈论压力状况,可以帮助孩子们和青少年们从事物的角度看待问题并解决问题。
  • 平衡娱乐和安静的时间。 就像成年人一样,孩子和青少年也需要时间去做带给他们欢乐的事情。 虽然有些孩子可能精力旺盛,但其他一些孩子则需要更安静的时间。 找到一个健康的平衡点。
  • 到外面去。 花时间在大自然中! 这是缓解压力和改善整体健康的有效方法。 研究人员发现,生活在绿色空间较大的地区的人的抑郁,焦虑和压力较小。
  • 写吧。 研究发现,用书面表达自己可以帮助减轻困扰和改善心情。 写一些积极的情感,例如表达感激之情可以缓解焦虑和抑郁的症状。
  • 保持灵活性。 韧性涉及保持灵活的态度。 在应对压力大的环境和创伤事件时,在生活中找到平衡是建立韧性的关键。

父母和其他照料者通过树立榜样并养成自己的健康习惯,并帮助儿童和青少年找到应对压力的策略,可以发挥重要作用。 父母可以提供一些帮助的方式:

  • 模拟健康应对。 照顾者可以与孩子谈论他们如何应对自己的压力情况。 讨论适当的个人问题以及解决和/或应对的步骤可以使生活中的困扰正常化。
  • 让孩子成为解决问题的人。 想要解决孩子的问题是很自然的。 尽量不要用推理和逻辑解决每个小问题。 相反,鼓励他们处理自己的感受并研究应对技巧,以帮助他们度过难关。 让您的孩子尝试自己解决低风险问题。 这将提高信心!
  • 促进媒体素养。 儿童和青少年会在网上花费大量时间,在那里他们可能会遇到可疑的材料,网络欺凌或其他同伴压力。 父母可以通过教给孩子良好的界限和克服数字压力的方式来提供帮助。
  • 对抗消极思想“我在科学方面很糟糕。” ... “我讨厌我的样子。”...   “我永远不会得到这份工作!” 儿童和青少年很容易陷入消极思维的习惯。 当孩子发现自己陷于负面思想时,不要仅仅反驳思想。 请他们挑战消极思想。 您有什么证据呢? 如果您不得不提出相反的观点,那听起来像什么? 学会积极地处理这些想法将有助于他们增强抵御压力的能力。

来源: 美国心理学协会

纽约希望工程

情绪支持热线

与危机顾问联系:

致电:1-844-863-9314

机密•匿名•免费

8 am-10pm / 7天

Sources of Stress

family walking and wearing face masks

Young Children

  • Tension at home
  • Changes at home
  • School
  • Friends
Group of teenagers wearing protective masks

Adolescence

  • Outside events or situations in the media
  • Academics
  • Friends/Peers
  • Romantic relationships
  • Pressure of substance use and alcohol
  • Irritability and anger: Children often express their feelings through behavior. Stressed-out kids and teens may be short-tempered or confrontational.
  • Changes in behavior: A young child who typically has a calm temperament is suddenly acting out. A very active teen suddenly isolating in his bedroom. These are all sudden changes that can be a sign that stress levels are high.
  • Trouble sleeping: A child or teen might complain of feeling exhausted or sleeping more than usual. These are signs that the child or teen is experiencing sleep disruptions or simply getting less sleep than they require.
  • Neglecting responsibilities: If an adolescent suddenly drops the ball on responsibilities such as homework, chores, or more pleasurable activities such as events and outings, stress might be a factor.
  • Eating changes: Eating too much or too little can both be reactions to stress.
  • Getting sick more often: Stress can show up as physical symptoms. Children who feel increased stress often experience headaches or stomach aches and might make frequent trips to the school nurse’s office or pediatrician.
  • Sleep well. Sleep is essential for physical and emotional well-being. Experts recommend 9 to 12 hours of sleep a night for 6 to 12-year-old kids. Teens need 8 to 10 hours a night. Sleep needs to be a priority. Limit screen use at night and avoid keeping devices such as cellphone, tablet, and laptop in the bedroom.
  • Physical activity is an essential stress buster for people of all ages! The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services recommends at least 60 minutes a day of activity for children ages 6 to 17.
  • Talk it out. Talking about stressful situations with a trusted adult such as a parent, teacher, coach, or therapist can help kids and teens put things in perspective and problem solve.
  • Balance fun and quiet time. Just like adults, kids and teens need time to do what brings them joy. While some children can be balls of energy, others need more quiet time. Find a healthy balance.
  • Get outside. Spend time in nature! It is an effective way to relieve stress and improve overall well-being. Researchers have found that people who live in areas with more green space have less depression, anxiety and stress.
  • Write about it. Research has found that expressing yourself in writing can help reduce distress and improve your mood. Writing about positive feelings such as expressions of gratitude can ease symptoms of anxiety and depression.
  • Stay Flexible. Resilience involves maintaining a flexible attitude. Finding this balance in your life as you deal with stressful circumstances and traumatic events is key to building resilience.

Parents and other caregivers have an important role to play by role modeling and adopting their own healthy habits and helping children and teens find stress-managing strategies. Some ways parents can help:

  • Model healthy coping. Caregivers can talk with children about how they’ve dealt with their own stressful situations. Discussing appropriate personal problems and steps toward resolving and/or coping normalizes distress in life.
  • Let kids be problem-solvers. It’s natural to want to fix your child’s problems. Try not to solve every little problem with reasoning and logic. Instead, encourage them to process their feelings and work on coping skills to help manage the difficult time. Let your children try to solve their low-risk problems on their own. This will improve confidence!
  • Promote media literacy. Kids and teens spend a lot of time online, where they can run into questionable material, cyberbullying or other peer pressures. Parents can help by teaching their children good boundaries and ways to navigate digital pressures.
  • Combat negative thinking“I’m terrible at science.” … “I hate the way I look.”…   “I’ll never get the job!” Children and teens can easily fall into the habit of negative thinking. When children find themselves stuck on negative thoughts, don’t just refute the thought. Ask them to challenge the negative thought. What evidence do you have for that? If you had to make the argument for the opposite, what would that sound like? Learning to process these thoughts positively will help them develop resilience to stress.

Source: American Psychological Association